3 Crucial Things I Learned From A 14 Day Water Fast

In March of this year I completed a 14 day water fast which I broke very cautiously with one week of green juice and another week with green juices and smoothies.

I had been researching the benefits of fasting for many years and after successfully completing some short juice fasts and eating a very cleansing high carb (high fruit), low fat raw vegan diet for two years I felt it was time to attempt a water fast. Being the extremely disciplined and determined person that I am, I jumped right in! My intention was to finally heal my body and accelerate the elimination of toxins I had accumulated over my life time. I was praying the fast would result in a miraculous recovery.

Water fasting has been practiced for thousands of years for religious and spiritual purposes as well as to heal many serious diseases (Jesus, the Prophet Mohammad, Buddhas and the ancient Greeks, Plato, and Hippocrates all practiced fasting). Studies have found that water fasting induces a process called autophagy (‘self-eating’) where old parts of cells are broken down and recycled. Autophagy prevents damaged cells from accumulating in the body preventing disease and increasing lifespan. During a water fast your body is in a state of ketosis. Ketosis is the state in which your body begins using energy from your internal fat stores instead of food. Water fasting has been proven to slow aging, promote longevity, regenerate your immune system and improve brain function.

Water fasting became particularly popular during the ‘Natural Hygiene’ movement that began in the 1830’s to treat serious disease. Natural Hygiene physicians rejected conventional medical practices and taught people how to live disease-free lives by utilising the healing power of nature. The physicians were ahead of their time and recommended a plant-based diet. They promoted water fasting and the avoidance of unnecessary drugs and surgery.

Is water fasting in 2018 the same as water fasting in the 1800’s? The answer is a big NO. A long water fast undertaken in 2018 is very different to water fasting 50 years ago and even 10 years ago. New chemicals are being released into the atmosphere everyday. Approximately 2,000 different unregulated chemicals are released annually in the United States alone. As our planet becomes increasingly toxic, so do we. We are the microcosm of the macrocosm. We are now exposed to thousands of chemicals on a daily basis from the air we breathe, the water we drink, the food we consume, pharmaceutical drugs, toxic mould exposures, synthetic fragrances,  the chemicals we put on our bodies and clean with as well as chemicals off-gassing from furniture, bedding, building materials and paints in our home. The level of toxicity present in the average person in 2018 is very different to someone living in the 1800’s. This is evident when looking at blood and urine samples taken from adults but also from testing the levels of chemicals in the umbilical cords of new borns.

This brings me to my first lesson ~

~  Water fasting (extended) is a very different experience now than it was in the past. DO NOT DO IT!

I do not recommend long water fasts. The only fasting I would recommend is very short water fasts, juice fasts and intermittent fasting.

BUT a caveat.

If you are wanting to truly detoxify your body from the accumulation of toxins in this modern world you need true binders. If you are going to fast and these toxins are released from fat and tissue into the blood stream and then into the gut only some water soluble toxins are excreted through urine. This puts a huge stress on the kidneys. Also most toxins are fat soluble and are excreted from the gallbladder with bile. During a fast gut function comes to a halt. These toxins are literally released and then reabsorbed.

If you do a short water fast or a juice fast please use binders such a Charcoal, Bentonite, Zeolite, Enterosgel, Microsilica & Biosil. You will literally be in the very same position you were prior to a fast after you finish as the toxins settle back into fat cells, tissues and organs without them. I personally did use a very minimal amounts of binders at the very beginning of my water fast but this was not enough.

If you really truly believe that a water fast is going to benefit you please only do it supervised by professionals at TrueNorth.

~ Do not water fast when your body is already depleted of nutrients.

I intuitively knew that I shouldn’t water fast. My determination, desperation, discipline, and desire to heal (and to heal fast) overrode this. Prior to beginning my fast I was low in iron, B vitamins and essential minerals including iodine. If you are to do a short fast make sure you are strong enough and have adequate nutrient stores.

~ Do not water fast when you have heavy metal toxicity.

I have had high levels of heavy metals for some time. This is a contraindication for water fasting. For some reason I thought I would be fine and that maybe my levels had gone down over the past 7 years. It is not worth risking let me tell you!

During my water fast I felt calm, connected and at peace. Considering how awful I felt physically going without food for 14 days this was surprising. It wasn’t until I began eating fat again (2 weeks post water fast) that I realised something was very wrong. Fat stimulates the gallbladder to release bile and this is where accumulated fat soluble toxins are released. From my experience and understanding the toxins that had been mobilised and stored in my liver over the past 14 days began being dumped into my intestinal tract. Because of enterohepatic re-circulation most bile salts and toxins are reabsorbed in the small intestine. I began to have serious psychological symptoms that are very rare for me and only seem to occur when I try to chelate heavy metals too fast. I experienced an overwhelming feeling of dread, I was depressed, I couldn’t stop crying, my brain felt ‘numb’ and I could not leave the house.

I am going to be real, raw and honest with you, for me water fasting caused a decline in my health.  I was a dangerous 40kg when I finished fasting and it took me a long time to recover and put on weight because my gut function was impaired due to toxins being dumped into my digestive tract, dysbiosis, fat malabsorption and diarrhea. I was so incredibly weak and it took many months to build strength and replenish lost vitamins and minerals. Pushing my body into such a hard and fast detox caused a huge amount of stress that it could not deal with. My poor adrenals, kidneys and liver suffered as well as many other organs and systems. The fast depleted my immune system and my white and red blood cell counts were extremely low after completing the fast.

I wholeheartedly believe that slow and steady wins the race when it comes to healing chronic illness. A lesson I learn over and over again on this journey.

I was unsure whether to share my experience as there is a lot of shame for me around what I did. I feel like I failed yet again. I believe it is important for people to read about my experience so they can understand that water fasting can be incredibly dangerous. I am not denying that it can be helpful for some people when done under supervision and at times life changing but I feel this is becoming increasingly rare because of the extreme amount of toxins we are exposed to. As I mentioned earlier a gentler approach is more beneficial in most circumstances ~ utilising a therapeutic high carb (high fruit), raw vegan diet (Medical Medium, Dr Morse, Dan McDonald), short (longer if experienced) juice fasts with high quality binders, intermittent fasting and short water fasts (24-48 hours) with binders.

Remember this is my experience and my opinions being shared but I do hope I can make you re-think whether a fast is the right thing for you at this time and to be aware of the importance of binders.

I am happy to report that after 5 months I now feel I have mostly recovered my health to where it was prior to my fast. I am now working on my core issues ~ heavy metal toxicity and infection as a result of a suppressed immune system caused by the heavy metals and general toxicity. Simultaneously I am taking pyroluria, methylation and detox support supplements. You can read more about what I am doing here.

Do you have experience with fasting? I would love to hear from you and I am open to any feedback.

Sending so much love to you all.

Amy x

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “3 Crucial Things I Learned From A 14 Day Water Fast

  1. Wow, I love a good honest blog where hard lessons are shared for others to learn from. Well done on having the guts to share this given that these things can be controversial. You know that if you don’t try something then things will stay the say and that is not what you want, so the motivated ones are always looking for ways to heal – controversial or not. We do need to draw the line sometimes as playing with heavy metals is risky business, and even more-so on a over-burdened system. Pleased to hear you’re at least back to ‘normal’. Thanks for sharing! Cam x

    Like

Leave a comment