Recipe: Chicken Liver Pate

Chicken Liver Pate is a rich, luxurious, nutrient dense food. It is loaded with vitamins and mineralsΒ including preformed vitamin A (retinol), B vitamins, vitamin K, vitamin C, iron and various other minerals.

My recipe is inspired by Sally Fallon’s recipe in the book Nourishing Traditions. You may try different herbs and spices that tickle your fancy. I used coconut oil to make mine dairy free but traditionally the recipe would use butter or ghee.

Recipe: Chicken Liver Pate

Ingredients

400g approx of chicken liver

2 Tablespoons of coconut oil, butter or ghee

1 large onion finely chopped

2 cloves of garlic finely chopped

1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar or white wine

A bunch of chives

1/2 teaspoon of rosemary

1/2 teaspoon of mustard (I use Eden foods paste.)

I have also experimented with adding fresh basil, coriander and parsley

Sea salt

Method

Heat 1 tablespoon of coconut oil, butter or ghee in a pan, add onions and cook until they begin to soften. Add the livers, garlic, chives, rosemary and cook for around 10 minutes.

Deglaze with vinegar or wine, add any additional herbs and mustard and cook until additional liquid has gone.

Season with sea salt and add an additional tablespoon of coconut oil, butter or ghee. Allow to cool slightly.

Process in a food processor or if you do not have one like me use a stab mixer. Blend until smooth. Place in a crock pot or chosen mold and chill well for a few hours or overnight.

10 thoughts on “Recipe: Chicken Liver Pate

  1. I actually have some frozen chicken livers that I bought few weeks ago to make something with it. This simple recipe looks great. I just have 2 questions: when you say “bunch of chives” how much approximately is it? I’ve never really cooked with chives before;; haha. And how long does the recipe last?
    Thank You!

    Like

  2. Hey Steph. Thats great get onto it! and you now have a blog, it looks fabulous.That wasn’t very specific was it ha. I would say the bunch is up to you. If they are the large chives you might use 5, if they are the smaller variety maybe 20 or so. I would keep it in the fridge for 2 days personally, but I also freeze some, then defrost for a great snack. Good luck, and thank you!

    Like

  3. ha they are scary. I have only recently decided to try them, so far only in the form of pate, quite enjoyable. I guess the next step will be trying them chopped up and sautΓ©ed maybe? They just look so much like..liver. Thanks!

    Like

  4. I desperately wanted to make this recipe and you know why because i love the lever recipes apart from egg recipes. mostpeople tell me that i like tehse food because i belong to the zodiac sign of taurus. hehe.

    Like

  5. Made it today! I had only around 300g of liver, so I just replaced the onions and chives with a bunch of green onions. (That was all I could find and chive+onions = green onions to me, haha). I made it Asian style by adding soy sauce and pepper flakes. It was my first time trying liver this way and I think I like it! Thanks πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. What do you eat it with? I’ve recently started taking Dr. Ron’s liver capsules because I know liver is so good for you, but I’m scared to eat it. What does it taste like? Maybe I should give it a try.

    Like

    • Hey! It is difficult to explain what it tastes like come to think of it. I guess it is slightly sweet, very rich, meaty taste and the added herbs and onion add flavours. I personally will have it with carrot or celery sticks or even just with a meal as a side. You could try it with crackers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

