Recipe of the week: Coconut pancakes


This recipe for coconut flour pancakes is devine! They are low allergy, high in fiber, high in protein, sugar free, grain free and full of coconutty flavour and goodness. They are very filling. I made these for my sisters birthday. I topped them with more coconut oil, my home made coconut cream kefir (which I will share with you soon) and berries. I generally double the recipe below.

Ingredients

2 eggs

2 tablespoons of organic, virgin coconut oil/butter, melted

2 tablespoons of coconut milk, alternative milk or even water works

preferred sweetener stevia, xylitol, raw honey to desired sweetness

2 tablespoons of coconut flour

1/4 teaspoon of celtic sea salt

1/4 teaspoon of baking powder, preferably aluminium free

Method

Blend eggs, oil, coconut milk, sweetener and salt together well with a hand held blender. Combine coconut flour with baking powder and mix thoroughly into the wet ingredients. Heat 1 tablespoon of coconut oil in a pan. Spoon the batter onto the hot pan making the pancakes about 2 1/2 to 3 inches in diameter.

Batter is quite thick, but does flatten out as it warms. Makes about 8 pancakes.

Enjoy

4 thoughts on “Recipe of the week: Coconut pancakes

  1. Hiya. I’ve just read your blog for the first time. It was really great to read about the natural remedies you have tried – although I’m sorry none of them seem to have helped terribly much by the sounds of it. I am trying to tweak my 12 year old’s diet so that she eats less grains and dairy but I have to be a little careful as sometimes it’s hard to get her to eat anything. I’ll be following you on your journey. Best of luck.

    Like

    • Hey Annie. Thanks so much for stopping by! I can imagine that would be so difficult, remembering what I wanted to eat back when I was 12! Chips, lollies and bread. It is frustrating as everything I have tried so far has not been completely successful on their own, but I feel nothing I have tried has been a waste as I have learned so much and still integrate much of this into my daily regime. I am trying to get through my ‘what I have tried’ posts, so I can post what I currently do which is a comination of many things I have tried along the way. I feel I am making verry slow progress but little things are changing!! Like I can go on the computer a bit longer, which previously I could not do at all.. A huge step for me was accepting my condition and after that true healing began I believe. If your daughter cannot do without grains and dairy you could try to source raw milk/goats milk which many people have wonderful results with because it still contains all the enzymes to aid digestion and nutrients and you could try soaking/sprouting/fermenting her favourite grains making them more digestable. Better for the weak CFS digestion. westonaprice.org has some further information on their site about the benefits. I purchased a book called Nourishing Traditions which really helped me! Thanks once again for your message, best wishes, amy

      Like

Leave a Reply

