What I have tried thus far: Part 1

I have tried many, many different alternative modalities; conventional and integrative doctors, various supplements and treatments in an effort to heal from ME/CFS. It is to the point where, there is not really a lot more I can try.

It has been a roller coaster of ups and downs with the hope that ignites when seeing a new practitioner, facing a new healing protocol and the downs when realising that the treatment isn’t working and the fear that the light at the end of the tunnel will never appear.

But in hindsight I have discovered nothing, well 99% of what I have tried has not been a waste. I have learned soo much from everything I have tried and from all the practitioners I have consulted with. And surely there has got to be some accumulative effect of everything you have tried right?

I was very fortunate that the first doctor who diagnosed me with ME/CFS had very sound knowledge of ME/CFS and was up to date with the latest treatments, scientific studies and general management of this illness. At our initial consult he ordered tests for standard pathology, mycoplasma, herpes viruses, salivary hormones and a comprehensive digestive analysis. He also provided me with a small book with diet, lifestyle, environmental recommendations. It also included an explanation of how ME/CFS manifests and touches on the effects on the brain, liver, immune, mitochondria and the gut.

His program included:

  • Weekly vitamin c and b complex injections
  • The prescription of 17 different supplements including:
  • Buffered vitamin c
  • B complex
  • Brain antioxidants
  • NADH
  • Peak ATP
  • N Acetyl Carnitine
  • Adrenotone
  • R Lipoic Acid
  • D Ribose
  • Intestamine
  • Probiotics/ Prebiotics
  • An organic diet:

Organic red meats, free range, chemical free chicken and eggs, wild fish.

Organic vegetable and fruits. Daily organic, fresh immune vegetable juice.

Organic tea

Noni juice shots

Avoidance of all colouring, flavouring and preservatives

Avoidance of sugar and favour stevia

  • Avoidance of electromagnetic radiation when possible
  • Avoidance of chemical fumes
  • Pacing and to never overtax the brain

So there you have it, my very first protocol which I followed for approximately 10 months. I believe that this approach has the potential to be very affective but unfortunately it did not work for me at the time. I still include much of this protocol into my healing regime but I felt that there was an overload of supplements for me personally. I am also very strict about the quality of the supplements I use and avoid all binders, fillers, additives, preservatives, which makes finding the right supplement harder and many of my doctors recommendations did not fit the bill. The other problem whilst implementing this protocol was my attitude to my illness which would of course had an impact on the results seen. I still had not fully accepted my illness and was pushing myself to attend school a couple of days a week, which was insane in hindsight considering the severity if my illness.

If you would like any more details please do not hesitate to contact me.

Leave a Reply

